Skip to main content

One of the faculty members of the School of Business at Washburn University is internationally recognized for excellence in his field. The American Accounting Association (AAA) presented Dr. Louella Moore, Professor of Accounting, with the International Innovation in Accounting History Education Award. Moore won the award for her innovation in incorporating accounting history topics into the courses she teaches.

“Accounting is more than just organizing financial data; it’s the application of critical thinking and decision-making,” said David Sollars, dean of Washburn’s School of Business. “Integrity and ethics are values ​​that we want each of our students to demonstrate. Dr. Moore does an excellent job of putting these values ​​into practice in her classroom.

“I’ve always been interested in knowing the ‘rest of the story’ about where the practices came from,” Moore said. “I have become increasingly aware that commercial manuals explain techniques but omit discussions of how humans can be negatively affected by certain widely accepted practices. I wanted to portray a more balanced narrative in my classes.

Since the fall 2018 semester, Moore has placed a strong emphasis on ethics and social practices in her curriculum and encouraged her students to think beyond the textbook about the influence of accounting on relevant social issues. She incorporates readings into her lessons that encourage students to view accounting as a social practice that is part of a larger whole.

One of Moore’s students said, “The textbook teaches us from an ‘ideal’ accounting world, but the readings it uses tell us there is no real ideal accounting world.”

Moore has taught at Washburn since 2012. His areas of research include accounting theory, culture, and educational policy.

The AAA’s Innovation in Teaching the History of Accounting Award recognizes and rewards innovative thinking in accounting education. Eligible teachers must demonstrate that they integrate the history of accounting into their lessons in a unique way and identify the ways in which this has enriched their students’ education. The award has existed since 2001, but is only awarded if the committee deems an entry meets its high standard. Twenty-two teachers won; Moore is only the third Kansas professor to win and the fourteenth in the United States.