Skip to main content

William Henry Shane Jr. was named the first recipient of the Jefferson Community Foundation’s “Jefferson First” Philanthropy Award.

The award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to Jefferson Parish through philanthropic giving, community service, deeds, talents, and dedication.

Shane co-founded Favrot & Shane Co. with HM “Tim” Favrot and is now one of the largest owners of multi-family residential real estate in the state.

Shane led the formation of what would come to be known as the Jefferson Economic Development Commission, or JEDCO, as its first chairman. He was also one of three founding members of Greater New Orleans Inc., a regional economic development alliance serving the 10-parish region of southeast Louisiana.

William “Bill” Balhoffformer Managing Director and CEO of Postlethwaite & Netterville received the 2022 Gold Medal of Distinction, the highest honor bestowed by the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants.

Since 1944, the prize has been awarded to CPAs whose influence on the accounting profession has been particularly notable.

Balhoff helped make P&N the largest accounting firm based in Louisiana. Accounting Today and CPA Magazine named him one of the “100 Most Influential People” in the accounting profession. The Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants recognized Balhoff earlier this year with the LCPA Life Membership Award.

Walter E. Blessey Jr. was named Maritime Person of the Year 2022 by the Propeller Club of the American Port of New Orleans.

Blessey was recognized for his contributions to Greater New Orleans’ maritime industry.

He is the founder and owner of Blessey Marine Services in Harahan. Blessey started the business in 1978. It now has over 750 employees, operating a fleet of inland tank barges and towing vessels.

In 2019, Blessey received a Meritorious Public Service Award from the Coast Guard to honor his contributions to the domestic shipping industry.

He received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a law degree from Tulane University. The university later presented Blessey with the Lifetime Achievement Award for the class of 1967.

Annette Drodyexecutive director of the Louisiana Dental Association, was inducted an honorary member of the International College of Dentists.

ICD is a dental honor society that recognizes outstanding professional achievement.

Droddy began her career at the LDA as director of communications and public affairs in 2003 and was promoted to deputy general manager in 2011.


The Louisiana Business and Industry Association announced the winners of its 2022 Free Enterprise Awards.

E. Frederick Preis Jr., partner of Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, won the Ed Steimel Achievement Award. The award honors longstanding LABI membership and service and recognizes individuals who have dedicated extraordinary time and effort to improving the quality of life in Louisiana.

Amazon was honored as Big Business of the Year. Gulf Coast Bank & Trust Company won the Small Business of the Year award.

Terry BaughCFO of D&J Construction was named Businessman of the Year. Jacques Landryfounder and president of Urban South Brewing, was honored as Young Businessman of the Year.

BASF Company won the Major Manufacturer of the Year award. Elmer Candy Corporation was honored as Small Maker of the Year.

Health Ochsner was honored as Workforce Innovator of the Year. The award recognizes those who have created education or workforce development initiatives to close the jobs gap.

Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce was named Economic Development Partner of the Year.